2017 West Bengal State Government Holidays

Sponsored Links:

There are numerous holidays in West Bengal in 2017. Apart from these there are many holidays which are also national holidays in West Bengal. These are holidays declared by Government of West Bengal. Following is list of holidays in West Bengal for 2017.

Public holidays in India are observed on regional basis and above dates are Government of India holidays. Government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are many festivals which are also observed in some states as holidays and dates will change from year to year.

List of National and Regional Public Holidays of West Bengal in 2017

Here we had provided with month wise holidays list for the year 2017 in state of West Bengal which includes National and Public holidays and events list. List of Government holidays in West Bengal State for Year 2017 is mentioned below.

Sponsored Links:

Also see Public Holidays in Odisha 2017

Holidays Date Week Days Remarks
Birthday of Swami Vivekananda 12th January Thursday Only holiday for West Bengal
Birthday of Netaji 23rd January Monday Assam, Odisha, Tripura, W.B will get holiday only
Republic Day 26th January Thursday Constitution of India came into force.
Saraswati Puja [Sree Panchami] 1st February Wednesday Haryana, Odish, Punjab, Tripura,W.B only get holiday
Doljatra 12th March Monday Only, AP, Odisha, Punjab, UP, WB get holiday
Bank Holiday 1st April Saturday Yearly closing of Bank Account
Good Friday 14th April Friday Good Friday before Easter Sunday
Birth day of Dr.B.R. Ambedkar 14th April Friday Dr Ambedkar Jayanti
 Bengali New Year’s Day 15th April Saturday Tripua and W.B get holiday only
May Day 1st May Monday Assam, Bihar, Goa, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Manipur, Punjab, Tamil Nadu, W.B only get holidays
Birthday of Rabindranath Tagore 9th May Tuesday Only West Bengal get holiday
Budha Purnima 10th May Wednesday Birth of Buddha
Id-Ul-Fitar 26th June Monday End of Ramadan
Independence Day 15th August, Tuesday Nation Independence from British Rule
Id-Ud-Joha 2nd September Saturday Feast of the Sacrifice
Mahalaya 19th September Tuesday Karnataka, Odisha, Tripura, W.B get holiday only
Mahasaptami 27th September Wednesday Odisha, W.B and Tripura will get holiday only
Durga Puja 28th September Thursday Only Odisha, Tripura, Sikkim and W.B get holiday
Mahanabami 29th September Friday Dussehra Ninth day celebration
 Vijaya Dasami 30th September Saturday Dussehra
Muharram 1st October Sunday 10th Day of Ashurah
Birthday of Gandhiji 2nd October Monday Gandhi Jayanti
Lakshmi Puja 5th October Thursday Odisha, W.B and Tripura will get holiday only
Kalipuja 19th October Thursday Festival dedicated to goddess Kali
 Birthday of Guru Nanak 4th November Saturday Founder of Sikhism Guru Nanak birth
Christmas Day 25th December Monday All states observed

Points to Note

  • Republic Day, Independence Day and birthday of Mahatma Gandhi are national gazetted holidays. On regional basis public holidays are observed in India.
  • Muslim festivals are change as per appearance of the moon.
  • Such as Christmas Day and New Year’s Day are not Government official holidays but observed nationally.

Sponsored Links: